

2021

The Belin-Blank Center for Gifted Education and Talent Development



# **GRADE**



INVENTION	STUDENT	TEACHER	SCHOOL DISTRICT
Lego Sweeping Machine	Ethan Hewitt	Gabrielle Elsbernd	St. Edward



INVENTION	STUDENTS	TEACHER	SCHOOL DISTRICT
Light Saver	Carter Cruzen	Breanna Dehrhoop	Ottumwa
The B.O.S.S. (The Beneficial On-Site Skin Scanner)	Charles Smith	Breanna Dehrhoop	Ottumwa



INVENTION	STUDENT	TEACHER	SCHOOL DISTRICT
Lick and Sip	Henry Hahn	Mary Ann Krammen	St. Benedict

# **GRADE**



INVENTION	STUDENTS	TEACHER	SCHOOL DISTRICT
Bust-That-Dust	Raelyn Miller	Misty Holzwarth	Linn-Mar
Eli's E-Z Feeder	Eli Yochum	Randi Endriss	Treynor
Ring Around the Dog Collar	Carolyne Jorgenson	Randi Endriss	Treynor
Warm Reflective Face Mask	Ella Minahan	Randi Endriss	Treynor

# **GRADE**



INVENTION	STUDENTS	TEACHER	SCHOOL DISTRICT
Holler Collar	Brianna Gage Ellie Schrader	Morgan Tjaden	Alburnett
The Bag Holder	Jaxson Martin	Morgan Tjaden	Alburnett

# **GRADE**



INVENTION	STUDENTS	TEACHER	SCHOOL DISTRICT
A New Kind of Fusion	Emmanual James	Emma Boesch	Iowa Connections Academy
Aqua Cleaner	Manasvi Devi Reddy	Amy Spoelstra	Linn-Mar
EZ Thaw	Alaina Thier	Amy Kluesner	St. Francis Xavier
Reptile Pedicure	Mason Smith	Amy Kluesner	St. Francis Xavier
See Clear (Fog No More)	Chloe Their Annabelle Zahradnik	Amy Kluesner	St. Francis Xavier
Swimmer Covid Cone	Molly Snyder	Amy Kluesner	St. Francis Xavier
The Saving Sink	Jack Wessels	Amy Kluesner	St. Francis Xavier

## **GRADE**



INVENTION	STUDENTS	TEACHER	SCHOOL DISTRICT
Color Fast Mask	Adler Bruce Claire Shroder	Michael Applegate	Atlantic
Fire shield	Hank Roberts Matthew Roland	Michael Applegate	Atlantic
Handy Rings	Ella Brummer Grace Mitchell	Michael Applegate	Atlantic
S.A.S.S.Strap	Addison Freund Makenna Schroeder	Michael Applegate	Atlantic
The Mountain Topper Fire Stopper	Hudson McLaren Sawyer Tarrell	Michael Applegate	Atlantic
The Prescription Protector	Margaret Mccurdy Amelia Olsen	Michael Applegate	Atlantic
The Saving Sink	Jack Wessels	Amy Kluesner	St. Francis Xavier

# GRADE



INVENTION	STUDENTS	TEACHER	SCHOOL DISTRICT
Fall and Stall	Grant Jansen Sam Mallory Luke Yanacheak	Hallie Edgerly	Adel DeSoto Minburn
Noise Cancelling Cat House	Thora Hegarty	Hallie Edgerly	Adel DeSoto Minburn
SSS (Smart Sensing System)	Sujan Vijayraj Shadrak	Amy Spoelstra	Linn-Mar
The Phone Protector	Olivia Gehring	Hallie Edgerly	Adel DeSoto Minburn



**RESOURCES FOR INVENTORS!** 

www.inventionconvention.org
www.nationalinventioncurriculum.org
www.uspto.gov



Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowasponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact Rachelle Blackwell in advance at 319-335-6196.



#### **DIRECTORS**

Susan Assouline, Ph.D., Director Laurie Croft, Ph.D., Associate Director for Professional Development

Megan Foley-Nicpon, Ph.D., Associate Director for Research and Clinic

**Brian Douglas, M.B.A.**, Assistant Director for Finance and Operations

Jan Warren, M.A., Assistant Director for Student Services

#### **ADMINISTRATORS**

Amanda Berns, Ph.D., Assessment and Counseling Clinic

Alissa Doobay, Ph.D., Assessment and Counseling Clinic

Ashlee Donithan, M.A.T., Curriculum and Instruction

Kristin Flanary, M.A., Communications Lori Ihrig, Ph.D., Curriculum and Instruction Joshua Jacobs, A.A.S., Technology and Project Management

Emily Ladendorf, B.A., Technology and Public Relations

Brandon LeBeau, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Ann Lupkowski-Shoplik, Ph.D., Acceleration Institute Duhita Mahatmya, Ph.D., Research Scientist Katie Schabilion, Ph.D., Psychometrician

### **ADMINISTRATIVE ASSOCIATES**

Noah Doershuk, B.A., Programmer Intern Stephanie Lynch, Ph.D., Research Assistant

### **CLERICAL STAFF**

Rachelle Blackwell Lori Hudson Bridget Pauley Nancy Whetstine

#### **DIRECTOR EMERITUS**

Nicholas Colangelo, Ph.D., Dean Emeritus

#### **UI CENTER FOR ADVANCEMENT**

Cally Murray, M.P.A., Development Officer Nicole Evans, M.P.A., Development Officer

#### **GRADUATE ASSISTANTS**

Pam Bozec, M.S.
Cole Denisen, M.S.
Eric Field, M.Ed.
Danae Fields, B.S.
Gennifer Humphreys, B.A.
Elmira Jangjou, M.S.
Emmy Kuhlmann, M.A.
Emily Shearer, M.A.
Akorede Teriba, B.S.

#### **UNDERGRADUATE STAFF**

Jenna Galligan Emily Miranda Keishanique Moton-Tyler

The University of lowa prohibits discrimination in employment, educational programs, and activities on the basis of race, creed, color, religion, national origin, age, sex, pregnancy, disability, genetic information, status as a U.S. veteran, service in the U.S. military, sexual orientation, gender identity, associational preferences, or any other classification that deprives the person of consideration as an individual. The university also affirms its commitment to providing equal opportunities and equal access to university facilities. For additional information on nondiscrimination policies, contact the Director, Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity, the University of Iowa, 202 Jessup Hall, Iowa City, IA 52242-1316, 319-335-0705 (voice), 319-335-0697 (TDD), diversity@uiowa.edu.