Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

The Belin-Blank Center is proud to serve as the Iowa and Midwest Region-at-Large Affiliate for the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program. The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program is the nation’s longest-running, largest, most prestigious recognition program for creative teens. Over the past 95 years, the Awards have recognized and encouraged artists and writers such as: Sylvia Plath, Andy Warhol, Truman Capote, Robert Redford, Tom Otterness, Zac Posen, among countless others.

See the Awards and Print Your Certificates →

See & Hear from Award Winners

Immerse Yourself in Three Exciting Weeks of Art or Writing

Apply to be among 90 of the finest young artists and writers who spend three weeks working with world-class faculty on one of the premiere arts campuses in the US. Priority will be given to students who participate in the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards.


Summer Art Residency

Summer Writing Residency

The Belin-Blank Center Presents: A Scholastic Celebration in Three Acts is an exciting celebration of the very best artists and writers in the Iowa and Midwest Regions of the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards.

Students who earned Honorable Mention, Silver, or Gold Key Awards in either Art or Writing in the Iowa or Midwest Regions will receive a medal.

We also recognize the teachers who are listed on the submission forms of student pieces. Teachers will also receive an award.

Over 1000 students from throughout Iowa and the Midwest Region are invited to participate in the annual Belin-Blank Center Scholastic Celebration along with almost 500 teachers. Each teacher from the student submission form of the award winner work will automatically be invited to attend.

Sunday, March 10, 2019, in the University of Iowa's Memorial Union.

Check-in begins at 12:30 in the Hubbard Commons and is followed by the Celebration in Three Acts.

ACT I      12:30-1:45      2nd floor Ballroom, IMU Act one highlights the amazing talents of our Scholastic winners with an art and writing show! Selected artists and writers will have their pieces on display for your viewing enjoyment. In addition, we will have a "Reading Room" where selected writers will do brief readings of their works. There will be representatives from several art and writing organizations available to talk with you while you sip on provided beverages. Finally, you can take part in a community art project and there will be several photo opportunities for you and your friends!

ACT II      2:00-3:00      Main Lounge, IMU The second act of the Celebration is an exciting and entertaining show that will recognize and celebrate all of the artists, writers and teachers. Special guests will join us live and via video to congratulate you on your accomplishments. American Voices and American Visions Nominees, Best of Grade Winners, Gold Portfolio, and our Grant Wood Legacy Award Winners, will be recognized on stage during the show.

ACT III      3:00-4:00      Hubbard Commons, IMU The final act is a reception…but, with a magical twist! What is a celebration without a little music…and, mystery?? Relax and have some fun before heading home.

We ask that you RSVP as soon as possible. We need all RSVPs in by Monday, February 18 extended to Saturday, February 23.

Students and teachers will both receive instructions on how to RSVP in the email invitation.
The designated teacher on the student submission form will be emailed separately from the student. However, we do encourage you to be in touch your teacher, especially if you are traveling from a distance. Making arrangements for attending the celebration is the responsibility of the family and the teacher.
All students, whether they are able to attend the Celebration or not, are able to print out a personalized certificate of recognition. We will also send gold and silver pins to educators to distribute to their students. Student medals and teacher awards will be presented to Celebration attendees only.
We encourage you to submit a press release on your behalf to your local paper. A press release is available here.
The Belin-Blank Center serves students and teachers from across Iowa and the Midwest Region. The majority of the students will be from Iowa, however, we will have students and teachers travel from Illinois, Ohio, Michigan, Kansas, Nebraska and Wisconsin!
Seating in the Iowa Memorial Union is extremely limited; therefore, each honored student may invite two attendees, and each honored teacher may invite one attendee.